Our response to coronavirus

Find out how we're working to keep the electricity and gas flowing reliably throughout the outbreak.

The Board

Our Board is collectively responsible for the effective oversight of the Company and its businesses.

It also determines the strategic direction, business plan, objectives and governance structure that will help achieve the long-term success of the Company and deliver sustainable shareholder value.

The members of the Board are listed below and each member has a profile page.


Sir Peter Gershon CBE FREng

Chief Executive

John Pettigrew FEI FIET

Executive Director, UK

Nicola Shaw CBE

Chief Financial Officer

Andy Agg

Non-executive Director

Jonathan Dawson

Non-executive Director

Therese Esperdy

Non-executive Director

Paul Golby CBE FREng

Non-executive Director

Liz Hewitt

Non-executive Director

Amanda Mesler

Non-executive Director

Earl Shipp

Non-executive Director

Jonathan Silver

Non-executive Director and Senior Independent Director

Mark Williamson

Group General Counsel & Company Secretary

Alison Kay

The successful delivery of our strategy is dependent on attracting and retaining the right talent. This starts with having a high-quality Board. Balance is an important requirement for the composition of the Board;?not only in terms of the number of Executive and Non-executive Directors, but also in terms of the range of expertise and backgrounds. While traditional diversity criteria such as gender and ethnicity are important, we also value diversity of skills, experience, knowledge and thinking styles.

The Board’s full responsibilities are set out in the matters reserved for the Board. Please refer to the terms of reference?section?within the corporate governance?part of this website.

Our Board sets the risk appetite for the Company and takes the lead in areas such as safeguarding the reputation of the Company and financial policy;?as well as making sure we maintain a sound system of internal control and risk management.